About Services Why Shelter Shopper? Testimonials Dog Stars and Resources Contact

There are thousands of wonderful dogs in the LA shelter systems right now looking for a happy forever home. Here are a few great dogs I've spent time with and who I think would make amazing pets. They are waiting to be someone's best friend and they're looking for their match...could it be you?



Katie

Little Katie is just amazing. She was found homeless on the streets of Taiwan, and brought here in an international rescue operation. She endured so much, and was very shy when she first arrived. She's still a little unsure about the big wide world, but there is no question how she feels about anyone who wants to make friends. Approach her kindly, and she is instantly ready to love you up! She's great with other dogs, and very gentle. We have never seen a dog like her - she looks very much like a shepherd, as you can see from the pictures, but much, much smaller, standing only about 14 inches high at the shoulder. She has a frisky, kissy, waggy, goofy, enthusiastic personality, and really, really needs to find someone to take her in and complete her transition into a wonderful pet. She is still learning to walk on the leash, but loves any attention and is ready to be taught. Come meet her - she is a one of a kind, special girl! Katie is at Fur Baby Rescue located at 3030 S. Hill Street in downtown LA, open 8am - 5pm every day!



Oso

Don't be fooled - Oso is a big boy but a gentle soul! He's approximately 3 years old and 85 pounds. And believe it or not, but he needs to gain a good 10 pounds. Despite his size, he's a very sweet dog and walks very well on a leash. Oso is a BIG love bug. He's medium energy. He likes a good walk now and then, but he's also happy just lounging around. Oso is healthy, neutered, housetrained, and good with other dogs and people. He is a big goofball, a gentle giant, a handsome Shepher-Husky mix boy with a heart of gold! Oso is with Tails of the City Rescue and you can meet him at their weekly Saturday adoption events from 1-4 at the Los Angeles Petco on La Brea. Please help spread the word about this amazing boy!


 

Sangria

Sangria- juicy and tart! That's her. Sangria is definitely one of a kind- a Shepherd, Beagle, something else mix! And she's quite the beauty. At the young age of 3, Sangria has not had it easy thus far. She was saved by a wonderful rescue group from a scary Bakersfield shelter having just lost her entire litter at the shelter. Since then she has been patiently waiting in boarding for her own home...it's been too long. Sangria is full of love. She has more love to give than most dogs I've ever met. She is wiggly, she is sweet, she is such a good girl She weighs 50 lbs and though she is timid at first meeting, she comes around in a day or 2 with oodles of love to give. Please visit Labs and Buddies to find out more.




ADOPTION RESOURCES:

Adopt-a-Pet.com http://www.adoptapet.com

Ace of Hearts http://www.acesangels.org

Animal Advocates Alliance http://animaladvocatesalliance.org

Animal Rescue Volunteers http://www.arvsimi.org

Bark Avenue Foundation http://www.barkavenuefoundation.org

Barks of Love http://www.barksoflove.org

Beagles and Buddies http://www.beaglesandbuddies.com

Best Friends Los Angeles http://www.losangeles.bestfriends.org

Brittany Foundation http://www.brittanyfoundation.com

Coastal German Shepherd Rescue http://www.coastalgsr.org

Downtown Dog Rescue http://www.downtowndogrescue.com

Heigl Hounds of Hope http://www.jasonheiglfoundation.org/

Labs and Buddies http://www.labsandbuddies.org

Lab Rescuers of San Diego http://www.labrescuers.org

Much Love Animal Rescue http://www.muchlove.org

Rover Rescue http://www.roverrescue.com

Southern California Labrador Retriever Rescue http://www.sclrr.org/

Strangest Angels http://www.strangestangels.org

Westside German Shepherd Rescue http://www.sheprescue.org

The Penny Foundation http://www.penniesfordogs.org

The Shelter Chronicles Doggie Matchmaker http://www.doggiematchmaker.blogspot.com

LOW COST SPAY/NEUTER RESOURCES:

Clinico http://www.clinico.org

Sam Simon Foundation http://www.samsimonfoundation.com

Valley Vet http://www.valleyvetnonprofit.com

ANIMAL WELFARE RESOURCES:

Angel's Gate http://www.angelsgate.org

Best Friends Animal Society http://www.bestfriends.org

North Shore Animal League http://www.animalleague.org/


Shelter Shopper Inc.© 2009 All Rights Reserved.